the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oh, heavens to me 254

10.08.2003

7:17 pm

So I didn't sleep very much last night. You know what that does to me.

This morning I started the prednisone and antibiotic, so I'm expecting to grow broccoli out of the top of my head any minute, or some other genetic mutation. That prednisone, it's a bitch goddess. When you need it, you need it, and then it ravages your entire body.

In other news, I shipped packages off to the offspring late this afternoon, including a coat that K bought when she was home this weekend but couldn't fit in her luggage, and twinkies and Halloween oreos to R. By the way, it cost over $30.00 to send the kid junk food (I included a couple of Nestle Wonderballs, she loves them) and a Clinique bonus I just picked up for myself. The cost of college is going up every day.

Tomorrow night is Back to School Night. My. Joy. Can. Barely. Be. Contained. Let me give you a preview:

I get there between 5:30 and 6:00 pm, because otherwise it would be easier to park at home and walk the half mile. Teacher sign-in is at 7:00. As I am no longer smoking, I can't even begin to imagine what I will do with the time, but if I spend it in the library with the SCM, I'll blow my brains out.

The evening's schedule for parents begins about 7:30, I think. I can expect to see parents of the kids who work in the library every period (HO HO HO), as well as parents who are lost in the building, or who are cutting gym. Since all but one of my 16 library kids are seniors, it's a safe bet that absolutely none of their parents are showing up. I put on a forced smile and give directions to wherever the lost souls need to go. And the gym-cutters don't even want to talk to me. They're just looking for a place to hide.

Once in a while a familiar face will drop in, but now that my kids are both out of the school, those are fewer and far between. For years, I could count on seeing people I knew from Girl Scouts, or PTA, or even people who were my own classmates, but I'm a little past that now. And we all know what that means. I'm going to start seeing parents who were students when I started working at the high school. (I already know of one in the building.) I'm going to start seeing grandchildren of former classmates. It's all becoming entirely too Twilight Zone-y.

Anyway, no update from me tomorrow. I'll probably use the dead time there to work on the GSA's [Gay-Straight Alliance] display for Friday's lunchtime Club Fair. After my thought processes ceased this afternoon but it was too early to leave school, I started assembling keychains to give away. More to go, so I guess I'll be working on that. Pictures, perhaps, of the Club Fair and our display on Friday. I'm very proud of these kids.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here