the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Seasons Change and So Did I 260

10.17.2003

11:32 am

the first changing tree of the season

It's Friday. My diary is one year old today.

I could get all kinds of emotional and misty over the diary and what it means to me but hell. Nobody who's reading this doesn't know what the diaries do for you. So you know. I'll leave it at this: keeping the web diary is maybe better than therapy. And I'm so glad I did this. And so proud of me that I'm still doing it. So there.

No question that I've been through all kinds of changes in the my life in the last year, year and a half. Keeping the diary is just one of them, but it is the one that's helped me keep a lot of the rest in perspective. Anyway, enough! In honor of my first diary-birthday, a new template.

Yes, that's me in the picture, in second grade. This is probably my favorite picture of myself ever, which doesn't say a whole lot of good for my self-image since then, but, whatever. No, I do have other pictures that I like and I'll probably be rotating them in and out from time to time. By the way, I'm very intrigued by all the diaries I see -- that would be yours -- with lots of white space on them. As you can see, I'm trying to get there, but it's just so much in my nature to fill up spaces and to fit in every detail that it's a real challenge. Let me know how I'm doing. And I've got some mixed feelings about the font thing, so let me know how that's working for you, too. 'Kay?

The tree. You know, I just had a great time taking pictures all summer and putting them in the fotolog. I called the fotolog "closerlook" because mostly I would spend a half hour in the backyard and take shots as close up as I could of whatever was there. This is not working so well now, in the fall, when nature works on a much bigger scale. So I guess that's what I'll need to do. Change the way I've been looking at things. (Doesn't that sound grand, though? No, I'm not going off on a Thelma-and-Louise trek, or taking up Eastern philosophy. I will, however, have to go for walks in the park and take my pictures looking far and up, as opposed to close and down. Changing the way I'm looking at things photographically speaking. For now.)

Friday Five tomorrow. I'm guessing it's up. I'm still off the notify list, so I don't know yet.

By the way, today's title is from a song, No Time Left for You, by the Guess Who. Ever since I started seeing the trees change, I can't get it out of my head.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Mad About You
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here