the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Friday/Saturday 261

10.18.2003

12:34 pm

I had the best day yesterday. Although the beginning - Thursday night -- was inausupicious, as I had gone to bed at 9:30, per usual, and then woke up about 12:30, per usual. I went into the family room to flip channels on the remote endlessly until I could get back to sleep. As usual.

The Biography Channel was showing Patrick Stewart. Yes, a biography of Patrick Stewart. Things began to look up, don't ya think? And when it was over, I went back to sleep and slept until 7:30, having already called in sick the night before. So I slept like a normal person, first time in weeks and weeks.

I didn't want a chore-filled day, and didn't have one. I'd already worked on the new template so it only took an hour or so to upload it, fix the bugs, and read all your diaries pretty much as you were posting them all morning. When I finished that, I fired up the AIM and IM'd with R in Wales for a half hour or so.

And I even got the new slipcovers onto the sofa and loveseat in the family room, and they fit! I never liked those SureFit ones that I tried, they didn't fit at all, but these from Target went on nice and easy. So now my furniture matches! Imagine, married 26 years and I finally have furniture in the same room that goes together.

An attempted, yet unsuccesful, nap. A good day.

Saturday

I fell asleep at about 4:00 last night this morning. That's four a.m. As in, I went to bed at 9:30 but didn't fall asleep until four.

So I'm all zombied out again. No prednisone this morning, but it'll take a few days to clear out of me, so I'm still a little fuzzy. I've been out all morning "erranding" - my usual word for it - getting new pillows for the couch and the last of the desperately needed picture frames for the piano. Really, I'm done now.

And a new pair of jeans. One size up. The time has come.
A Friday Five

1. Name five things in your refrigerator.
  • Arizona Iced Tea, 1 Gallon Family Size (about 1/4 full)
  • Starbucks Vanilla Frappucino (2)
  • Folger's Coffee
  • Smart Bacon
  • Philadelphia Soft Cream Cheese
2. Name five things in your freezer.
  • Hot Pockets Chicken and Broccoli
  • Edamame in pods
  • White Castle Cheeseburgers
  • Toaster Strudel (cream cheese and strawberry)
  • Golden's Cheese Blintzes
3. Name five things under your kitchen sink.
  • Swiffer disposable cloths
  • Clorox disinfecting wipes
  • Scotchbrite scouring pads
  • Dawn
  • the garbage
4. Name five things around your computer.
  • Ott-Lite desk lamp
  • tv remote
  • hearing aids hanging from a drawer knob
  • mechanical pencil
  • leprechaun
the desk leprechaun

5. Name five things in your medicine cabinet.
I don't keep anything in the medicine cabinet except my electric toothbrush; Hubs keeps his stuff there. Mine is on shelves over the toilet (next to the medicine cabinet), whereupon one can find
  • makeup and moisturizer (Clinique)
  • Pond's facial cleansing cloths
  • Cutex nail polish remover
  • hair sculpting paste
  • leprechaun
the bathroom leprechaun

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Headline News
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here