the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Will You Have a Little Whine With That Entry? 282

11.14.2003

7:16 pm

Thanks for the hugs and kisses, folks; much much appreciated.

A tale or two from library-land:

Yesterday lunchtime, two girls came in and headed straight for the Reference Room in the back, which was good, since the library at lunch is notoriously packed with boys, especially freshmen and sophomores, and when these two came in, my eyes almost popped out. Clearly, a couple of nice girls trying to dress all trendy-like without giving a thought to their particular personal body types. One of them, anyway. In other words, she was wearing one of those clingy tops with only one sleeve-shoulder, the other "bare", and since she was of the busty variety of women, she was also wearing a bra (thank goodness) which was clearly visible above the neckline, not to mention the whole strap. She was adjusting it when she came in.

As I've mentioned before, it is not easy to approach a kid in such a situation, even though the situation screams for it. But I could see that this kid was not altogether secure in this outfit, so I sucked it up and gave it a try. I followed her into the other room, and said quietly that as a mother of two teenage daughters, I thought she might want to cover up a bit.

The funny thing is, although she was a little uncomfortable, I think she was also relieved. Here she'd tried the trend and someone had bothered to tell her that she looked undressed. Her friends had probably been reluctant to say so, too. She thanked me and pulled a shirt right out of her bag, and put it on over what she was wearing. Just goes to show. Sometimes they're not so sure of themselves, not as much as they'd like us to think, anyway.

And what's library-land without a story about the SCM? This actually happened last week, just before all hell broke loose, so I haven't really thought about it again until today.

We've got an old and poorly maintained heating system, so it's hot-cold-hot-cold all day. First thing last Wednesday morning, I'm there with just the SCM before school starts, and he says something about being -- I don't know, hot or cold, one or the other. I nodded or some such, and he went on and on, and finally said something about his "thermostat" being off these days.

I looked at him. He is such a moron, really; at least I'm not the poor unfortuante married to him. Anyway, I couldn't help myself, so I said, "Yeah, try being a menopausal woman."

He gets one of those "pity me too!" looks on his face, and begins to tell me that male menopause is real, too, and it's hormonal, and men go through a kind of menopause, too! Geez! I'm waking up most mornings literally all wet like I just walked in out of a soaking rain, and he wants me to feel sorry for him? It's like he can't bear not to be a part of something, everything. I'm not saying men don't have ... well, whatever the hell it is that men have, but damn, I'm sorry, is it really the same as natural childbirth, hormonal swings, and yes, menopause? He seems to want it to be. Never gonna happen, my friend.

Five

1. Using one adjective, describe your current living space.Improving.

2. Using two adjectives, describe your current employer.Psychotic. Insane.

3. Using three adjectives, describe your favorite hobby/pasttime.Expressive. Creative. Logical.

4. Using four adjectives, describe your typical day.Structured. Productive. Achy. Sleepy.

5. Using five adjectives, describe your ideal life. Loving. Serene. Productive. Comforting. Un-lonely.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here