the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Had a Cool Title But I Forgot It 286

11.18.2003

7:10 pm

So my friendly neighborhood internist/cardiologist/gerontologist (really) doubled my dosage of blood pressure medication and gave me a diuretic to boot. The good news is that maybe I'll lose a pound or two. And if it's the b.p. that's responsible for the headaches, maybe they'll go away too.

Thanksgiving is coming. Can my birthday be far behind? Well, yes, by a month and a half, but I'm thinking already. Those who were around last year may recall the birthday countdown that rivaled that of a manic six year old. But I'm much more mature now. More on my birthday present tomorrow.

In the meantime, I stole this from trinity who got it from golfwidow who got it from .... I just can't figure out how I missed it at golfwidow's.

First kiss: First ever kiss was probably in second grade, but first teenage kiss was Mark, on a bus on a field trip coming home from Washington, D.C.

First real kiss: I guess that would be the high school boyfriend, Bob, with whom I was an item for almost two years. First good kiss was actually from the Hubs, during our first semester in college, after which I broke up with him. My timing was off.

First job: I worked in neighborhood fabric store, stocking the patterns and zippers, measuring and cutting fabric, and so on.

First screen name: I always used something with the word "mom" in it, since I apparantly had no other sense of identity. I used "rmom" a lot.

First self purchased album: I have no idea. But the first album I owned was Meet the Beatles, which my mother waited on line for in a department store right after it came out. I was 11.

First funeral: That would be my OldFriend's father, who died quite suddenly the August before I started my junior year of high school, her senior year. He owned a store in a busy location, and so he knew many many people, and the place was jammed. It was also an open casket, which my parents explained was very unusual at a Jewish funeral, but he was not religious so his wife said it didn't matter. I stayed either in the extreme back of the room, or off in a side room with my friend.

First pets: Two turtles named Pete and Willie. My father, who loved dogs, would not have one in the house, citing the dirt/mess and the fact that he would end up walking it, cleaning up, and so on. He was probably right.

First piercing: Ears, the day after Thanksgiving, freshman year of college. I took a lot of convincing.

First true love: True ... what does that mean? First sense of passion would be the high school beau, Bob. First guy I thought I would marry would be the college beau, who remains unnamed. First time I knew it was real would be the Hubs.

First big trip: We went up to Massachusetts every other month since my grandmother lived there, so although it was about a five hour drive, it didn't seem like a big deal. When I was 7, my mother and sister and I flew out to California and stayed with my uncle and his family for a month.

First musician you remember hearing in your house: My father listened to Mantovani records all the time when I was little.

Last big car ride: When we took K to college in D.C. in August.

Last kiss: The Hubs. Who else is kissing me?

Last good cry: God, I used to love a good cry and could invoke one pretty easily, but not so much anymore. It would have to be in the weeks after Jack died, last February.

Last movie seen: I watched Finding Nemo on the DVD on Saturday.

Last beverage drunk: Arizona Iced Tea, pretty much all the time.

Last food consumed: I stopped and got three slices of the best pizza in the whole world and had it for dinner.

Last phone call: My sister. I talk to her every day, but since my parents are gone I don't have any other daily regulars.

Last TV show watched: The Golden Girls is on as I write. I know you're all terribly surprised.

Last shoes worn: I wore my white Skechers pull-on sneakers to work today.

Last CD played: Brahms, when I was trying to sleep one night last week. Dave Clark Five on the mp3 player this morning.

Last item bought: Cutting boards to put under the giant toaster. Don't ask.

Last disappointment: I'd have to think about that one more. Last big one, I guess, was the whole job-crisis-of-faith in the last few weeks.

Last soda drunk: Ginger Ale. With lime.

Last ice cream eaten: Vanilla. I am pretty exclusive about vanilla ice cream.

Last shirt worn: Currently wearing a gray long-sleeve Old Navy tee that I bought the first time I ever saw an Old Navy, so that's some years now, over a black fruit of the loom tank.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here