the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Just the Nine of Us 295

11.28.2003

7:28 am

As I said yesterday, there were a mere nine of us at Thanksgiving dinner. It was an all time low, in number at least. But it was nice, very nice. Here's the only thing:

Every year, my father always said we were making too much food. "Uhh! (his trademark grunt) Nobody will eat all of that! It's too much!" We would tease him and ask what we should cut out, but he would never say. Sometimes we did cut something out, but generally, it was exactly the same thing, year after year after year. What we did do this year was make a little less of everything, since there were fewer of us.

So we were very very surprised to see all the leftovers. Maybe twice as much as usual, and trust me, we packed it away, all of us, even K and I, who tend to have small appetites. Why so much?

Then we realized. It was because my father ate so much. He loved to eat, he was overweight, certainly, but had cut down a lot in his last few years. But boy did he love Thanksgiving. He would eat and eat and eat. There was so much stuffing left! He especially loved the stuffing.

And of course we would always split the leftovers for three households, not two.

Not being maudlin (at least trying not to be), but it was a moment we all took notice of.

But we were okay. It was all okay. It was nice, even. Really nice.
The Friday Five

1. Do you like to shop? Why or why not?
I love to shop. It's like playing a game. I don't always shop to buy; that is, I don't always buy when I go out shopping (or shopping on line), but I like to look, compare, etc. I don't so much like to spend money, and I hate to spend more on something than I need to. But I can also be an impulse shopper, and if something is expensive but worth it, that's okay.

2. What was the last thing you purchased?
All the Thanksgiving food and things that go with that. Before that, I ordered a car adapter thing from Amazon to play music through the car radio.

3. Do you prefer shopping online or at an actual store? Why?
I like both. I like the instant gratification of online, although it does take longer to get the item. I like seeing the actual thing in the store first, sometimes. But I HATE shopping in crowds.

4. Did you get an allowance as a child? How much was it?
I think I started with a dime, perhaps I was eight. It went up gradually. I don't remember what it was when I was in high school, but when I got my first job, the allowance stopped, as it should. I also offered to buy my own clothes from then on, which I pretty much did, except for things like coats.

5. What was the last thing you regret purchasing?
I've gotten much much better at this over the years, not buying things that I'll regret. But not all better. I love gadgets, and then gadgets for my gadgets. About a week ago I took some cash I'd saved up and got myself an iPod, which I love. But I've already wasted money on a case that didn't fit right and another car gizmo that I can't take back, and which doesn't quite work. Maybe when I add in the other adapter I just ordered. See? Once I'm on a gadget quest, well, then I've got a problem.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Today Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here