the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Best Damn TV Show. Period. 297

11.30.2003

4:43 pm

It's The Odd Couple.

Really.

Oh, I've seen your All in the Familys, your M*A*S*Hs, your Friends, your Seinfelds. I'm a big fan of the Barney Miller, the Taxi. Let's face it, I'm a TV junkie, and have been all my life. I. Know. Sitcoms.

But the one I know best is The Odd Couple. I've seen every episode more times than I've seen any I Love Lucy, which I've seen as much as everyone else. I know every line. I know when the good lines are coming, and I laugh before I even hear them.

As does the Hubs. Some couples have traveling, or other hobbies that they share. We've got not so much of that to speak of, actually, But we bonded on The Odd Couple a long, long time ago, even before we were married, but especially after. It was on every night on a local station, generally two or three times. You can watch a lot of TV when you're not doing other things together.

Together, we once reduced someone to jelly in an Odd Couple trivia contest. We know it all, or at least did when we didn't have fifty-year-old brains. Still know a lot. We have always spoken in Odd Couple lines. Like when something happens and a line from the show fits, we say it instead of something ... well, original. Oh, sure, sometimes it's a Barney Miller line, or even All in the Family, but by and large, it's The Couple. Nothing funnier to me, ever. Even durng the ten-hour marathon on channel 11 yesterday, I was breaking up from rooms away, just knowing which episode was on.

I've taped some over the years, and bought the series from Columbia House way back, but it wasn't complete, so of course, I taped all day yesterday, even while I was on the phone with Dell, even while K and I were at the movies. Hubs changed the tapes while I was out.

He even watched TV in the same room with me and the kid for awhile. No doubt. Best show ever on TV.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching news
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here