the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Everything's Coming Up Roses 299

12.02.2003

6:40 pm

I was at the dentist for three and half hours. This is the gospel truth. I was only in the chair for three, but really. I was under the lights in the chair for three solid hours. So I'm not so much good for anything right now.

Except that when I got home just a half hour ago, there was an automated message from Dell that the part expected to arrive today is freaking back-ordered, and won't be shipped until Friday. This is for the computer we were supposed to be driving down to DC this weekend. Not. Anybody know what that famed Dell Tech Support and Warranty costs extra when you buy a computer?

On a brighter note, I just called my aunt in Florida, the one that we visited in July, to wish her a happy birthday. That would be, I believe, her 87th birthday. (2003 ... 1916 ... am I right? 87?). And she drives, and is still capable of doing so, and goes to the opera and the ballet and her grandchildren's Little League games. And since her father lived to 92, and his mother to 96, when she says she hopes she makes it to my niece's wedding in 2005, I actually have few doubts that she will.

Oh crap. My jaw is so sore, and I'm hungry. The solution is probably to eat ice cubes, thereby eliminating a step in there somewhere, but more likely, I'll go cook up some nice soft eggs and hold an ice pack on my face while I'm at it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will & Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here