the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Storm's a-Brewin' 300!

12.04.2003

7:45 pm

So they say.

I didn't write yesterday, cause I knew this was my 300th entry and I thought "Wow, cool, 300!" and I thought I would write something really whiz-bang. But that doesn't seem to be coming to pass so much, so it's just another entry.

I just survived a battle with my inner Puritan and called in sick for the day tomorrow. Nothing to do with the alleged snow, though; I'm going for a blood pressure check in the morning, a fifteen minute appointment that will stretch into an hour or more in the waiting room, so I'd planned to take a half-sick day in the morning. As for the afternoon ... I don't want to go. That's it. The work ethic thing, however, was giving me fits for a while, but I'm over it. So a little bit of the doctor, a lot of house-straightening and a touch of DVD burning, and that should be a nice day for me.

Apropos of nothing, an observation: the IMing with R a few times a week is wreaking absolute havoc on my typing skills. It's like I'm backspacing every other letter when I'm putting my entries together here; on the IM, I mostly just keep going, rarely capitalize, punctuate or re-spell. And it wasn't easy getting used to doing that, either; I'm always a stickler for all that. As is R as well, but with the IM, if you keep stopping to go back, you lose your train of thought, not to mention you're not keeping up with the conversation.

So this is funny: here's the Hubs, both of us not the social-gathering-types, and he's at this new job since Monday, and their Christmas party is tomorrow! And he has to go! And was nice enough to say to me "You have plans with your sister Friday, right?" so I don't have to. Go me. Sucks to be him. But maybe they'll cut it short, because, as I mentioned ..

storm's a-brewin'.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Everybody Loves Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here