the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Snowbound! 302

12.06.2003

12:37 pm

I know that a few of you are in this with me, up there in Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, and Pennsylvania, too.

Fun, ain't it?

In fact, I'm finding this to be not much of a big deal for me personally. It's on a weekend, so no one near and dear is out traveling in it, no kids coming in our going out this weekend. Since I wasn't at work yesterday, I haven't even been out in it at all, except for the first few flurries. The Holiday Party that the Hubs was supposed to go to last night was cancelled, and rescheduled for a night that he's teaching, so he doesn't even have to go to that, not now, not ever.

So, we're in. He made a very nice soup/stew already this morning, which was most tasty.

Mostly I'm bored. I've got the news on TV, off and on, and I keep seeing all those meshugunnah reporters out there on the highways in the snow. Not that's a sucky job. I was amused though, to see one of them at the Garden State Plaza mall, looking out across the disaster that is Route 17, at the BJ's Warehouse parking lot -- exactly where the Sibs and I had planned to be at just that moment -- and seeing that there are indeed wackos who have gone out in this mess to shop. I wasn't kidding when I said blizzard. That's the official weather service term for what's going on here. We're having 40 mph winds. I feel so sorry for anyone who has to go to work on days like this.

I'm also amused at the news that keeps going by on the crawl on the news: SATs are cancelled at this high school, at that one, at the other. Can't they just say SATs are cancelled in New Jersey, and these counties in New York and Connecticut? Oh, wait, that's just anywhere that receives this broadcast. So just cancel them once. In fact, the Psycho called me yesterday when I was home (and taking a nap) so I could post the announcement on the school website, too. Well, that makes sense. But on TV, do they really need to list each individual one? And since I didn't see my school, their coverage isn't exactly spectacular.

So, pretty much, I'm bored. I've done every chore I'm willing to do. I did one more bit of Christmas shopping online that I was going to the mall for. Of course, I could always clean the basement -- never ending -- but that would be a chore I'm not willing to do. All I'm up for is deciding which movie to watch on video. And even that's taking more energy than I feel like expending.

Nap. Good idea. Movie later.

Keep warm!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Bosom Buddies
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here