the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Cawd a Code 326

01.01.2004

6:41 pm



So it's been a strange day. At the moment, Boo, who will never let me get a picture of his cornflower-blue eyes, is sitting on my shoulder, licking the back of my neck. Well, now the label on my shirt. Whereas his step-sister, Q, doesn't know enough of The True Way of the Cat to look away as I snap the shutter.



So I'm typing with one hand, the other holding up the cat. In other news, this is the strangest cold I've ever had. It's been coming on for two weeks, since K goI'm starting to feel better. I'm not complaining. But I've been drinking so much tea that it feels like I've spent most of the day in the bathroom. But I just had some nice mac and cheese for supper, and my last Butter Streusel Cake, AKA the best cake in all the world, is defrosting. And a bit of Idol tonight, even if it's World Idol.

Inspired no doubt by the clutter article of the other day, I actually got up this morning and filed the remaining bills, receipts and whatnot from 2003. Not only has this never been done so early, I doubt that it's ever really been done at all. Usually I keep everything in a box or envelope and just close it up at the end of the year. (That sounds neater than it ever was.) But the nice desk I got last spring has a filing drawer, so I've been filing. I'm so damn proud of me. Everything is sorted and put away in a real file box, with all the tax stuff in one place where I can find it. How do you like that: old dogs can learn new tricks.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching DeGrassi on N (don't ask)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here