the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hi. 338

01.14.2004

6:12 pm

The weird thing is, things are pretty good. My eye feels better since I'm packing ointment into it every morning, and nothing else is falling off me that I know of. So I'm wondering why I feel like curling up into a fetal ball and pulling the blankets over my head.

No question that it is extraordinarily gloomy outside. Maybe that's it. It's cold and nasty out there, and I don't want to go out in it. I'm also pretty freaked out at the prospect of snow tonight, and freezing temperatures tomorrow. Perhaps the fact that my kid is due to fly out of Newark airport at nine Thursday night has something to do with it. In fact, I'm sure it does. I'm not so freaked about her leaving - I think - but about her leaving in the weather. I don't want her delayed or stuck at the airport overnight. Then what? We go back and get her? I don't know. I know that once the plane climbs up and over, then everything is fine. That won't even take long. The question is, how long will she be delayed on the ground? Once we get her there, two hours or more before her flight, it's not as if we can wait with her. Seems pointless for us to sit in one part of the airport and her to sit alone in another while we wait to see if the plane takes off.

Really, I could put a field in my diary template called "What's worrying me today." With any luck, Friday morning I'll wake up and know that she's landed safely in London and is happily on her way back to Wales.

That would be nice.



I've taken to writing my entries at work in the afternoon when things are slow, and emailing them home and posting them later. This means that I'm not writing much, and writing earlier in the day than I usually do. It's not so much that I want to write then, but that I'M BORED and just want to talk to you all about then.

Anyway, I'm home now, finishing up -- I wrote the part above the line earlier this afternoon -- so I'm just adding on a detail or two.

It seems that they just found someone on a Virgin Atlantic flight earlier today with ammunition. And R thinks this is good, because it means they'll have better security when she goes tomorrow. This can't be my kid, right? The weather alone is freaking me out anyway. (See above.)

And I talked to K just a while ago and she thinks the plan in which I go with her to the U.K. in March and we see London too is just fine. COOOOOOL!

I'm your basic roller coaster today. Once the girls are back in their places and life settles down, I'm sure I will too. Oh wait, planning more eye surgery. But that's nothing anymore. I got way more stressed over that last year than I needed to; it was no big deal.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Full House
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here