the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where was I? 339

01.15.2004

8:47 pm

We just got back from taking R to the airport, where it appears her flight will be taking off without a problem in about an hour and a half. With any luck, she'll call from London by 7 am our time in the morning, and let us know she's arrived. They were predicting 30 mph winds tonight with gusts higher, but it's not as windy as that. It was damn cold today, but that's no news for anyone. Although I just saw a crawler on TV, which they dared show over Friends, that predicts record cold temperatures tomorrow morning, with a possible windchill of 30 below. I don't think I've ever seen that before.

But we did have a snow day today; although it turned out there were only about five inches of very dry powdery snow, it didn't stop til almost noon, so they couldn't keep the parking lots and sidewalks clear enough to keep the schools open. Unlike almost every place else in America, I think, we have virtually no buses in my school district. All but maybe 50 kids in town live within the walking distance allowable by law. (That's one high school, two middle schools, and six elementary.) So all sidewalks have to be clean enough for kids to walk.

For tomorrow, just cold, I guess. And my tasks are set before me, especially taking a look at that room the girls shared while they were home and seeing what condition they left it in. Since it's the only room upstairs, there's no need for me even to peek into it while they're home. But although we have raised lovely children, we have not raised neat ones. So I'm sure that what they think is a room left clean is far from it. I suppose this will be my Saturday task. I was going to try to get the cats to the vet for shots on Saturday, but I think poor little seven-pound Boo would just freeze solid. So I'll put that off for next week.

My, what a boring entry.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching All in the Family
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here