the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

What Did We Learn Today? 341

01.17.2004

6:40 pm

The first thing I learned this morning is that if you dress for 0 degree weather, and it's 18, you'll suffocate. After hibernating yesterday, I got all long-johned up before I went out this morning, and then I wanted to rip all my clothes off going up and down the aisles in Shop Rite. Which took almost an hour -- my record with a full cart is about 15 minutes -- since they're still remodeling the store and I can't find anything.

I learned that I could change the filter on the furnace humidifier and the heat would come back on. And the house wouldn't blow up. Have I ever mentioned my fear that some day I will be in a house and the furnace will blow up? No idea where this came from, but it's been with me a long time. Once, when R was a baby and we lived in an old two-family house where I was especially certain that this would happen one day, I got up to give her a bottle early in the morning, and while I was in the hall between the kitchen and her room, the house shook. The house literally shook, and I remember thinking, "Oh, shit, this is it, the furnace is blowing up!" Then I fainted. The Hubs woke up when he heard me hit the floor. So he got me back into bed and went to look after the baby, at which time I heard on the radio that there had just been an earthquake. (They're not so common here.) This led to an amusing conversation when he came back to bed (Me: There was an earthquake. He, gently: No, you fainted. Me: I know I fainted. Because of the earthquake. He: No ... Me: Listen to the radio!)

I also learned that the Friday Five is not dead. I just didn't get the notify list email yesterday. I saw it on Jane's diary about a second after I posted my entry yesterday, in which I mourned the passing of the Five. In fact, while my entry was being uploaded. I have limited answers to these questions, at best, so here goes:

1. What does it say in the signature line of your emails?
I have more than one email address at work; one for being the librarian, one for being the webmaster, and one just for being a member of the faculty. The first two have signature lines a la:

My name
Website Manager (or Library Director -- I like that one; I made it up. Although I technically have the title Head Librarian)
Name of the High School
Address of the High School
Library phone number
Library fax number

Otherwise I don't use signature lines. I've never had one with a quotation in it.

2. Did you have a senior quote in your high school yearbook? What was it? If you haven't graduated yet, what would you like your quote to be?
My yearbook didn't have senior quotes. There were about 670 people in my graduating class. We wouldn't have had the room for them.

3. If you had vanity plates on your car, what would they read? If you already have them, what do they say?
I don't have them, although I went through a phase when I really really wanted one, and kept trying to come up with something to say. The best I ever thought of was BMEUP; but this is when I was very much into Star Trek. Since then, I've seen a car here in town with that one. I've also considered using the Dewey Decimal number that means school librarian, or something else significant about me, like 822.33, which is the number for Shakespeare, but no one else but librarians would get it.

4. Have you received any gifts with messages engraved upon them? What did the inscription say?
I don't think so.

5. What would you like your epitaph to be?
Ahh. There are several quotations I enjoy that are suitable for epitaphs. I thought they were all on my quotations page, but I just looked, and they're not all there. I'll have to add them. They are all on my desk at work. So I may be paraphrasing here.

"I was a victim of a series of circumstances, as are we all." Kurt Vonnegut, in The Sirens of Titan.

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke

"Who's the leader of the club that's made for you and me?" Walt Disney

and this one, which comes from an old vaudeville skit called Out of the Storm that, to borrow an expression, cracks my shit up totally. Funniest thing I've ever read. If I can figure out how to post it one day, I will. The last line of this frenetic, slapstick routine is

"Everything is peaceful and serene."

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching DeGrassi
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here