the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Riddle Me This: 349

01.27.2004

4:49 pm

How come I can hardly ever bring myself to let go with a face full of tears when I'm sitting in a therapy session, where I like and trust my therapist, but I had no problem whatsover breaking down in the vet's waiting room today in front of the bitchy, yet arrogant, receptionist? The one who refused to let me take Boo out of the carrier for one hug before I sent him in for dialysis?

It's sort of dialysis, a three day program of them pushing fluids and making sure he gets his antibiotics. That's it, then. We're not putting the cat on regular dialysis, which would be insane, not to mention cruel. I expect to be bringing him home by the end of the week. After that, I have no idea. My god, thank you all so much for your kind words and thoughts. I know of course that life goes on and he's a cat, and you all know that too, but regardless of what we all know (and my absurd need to rationalize and understand everything) I also know that it's okay to feel sad here, even though he's a cat. That's clear, right?

And in other news, it's cold. Hah, you knew that! It's cold everywhere. They're predicting a whopper of storm tonight, 2 to 3 inches an hour for a total of maybe 8 to 12 inches where I am, as they love to say on the TV weather, "north and west of the city." The Hubs has already had to cancel his class tonight, first class of the semester, so he's coming home plenty pissed off. And they've already called a delayed opening for school tomorrow, which I've posted on the school website and then modified, per the Psycho's instructions.

The delayed opening should give me the opportunity to make phone calls and try to get a hotel room in Wales for when K and I are going to visit R in March. For some reason, neither the travel agent nor I have been able to get this yet. Either there are only five hotel rooms in Cardiff and they're all taken, or there's some huge event going on there that hasn't made itself real obvious to us yet. There's a Hilton, a Holiday Inn, a Marriot, and they're all full. No rooms at the ... okay, you get it. I wasn't going for a B&B, but I may end up with one yet.

Stage Two of the Root Canal this morning. So far, so good. At least this week, I know what's coming. I swear, last week, I thought that when the novocaine wore off, I'd be just fine, no more toothache, all better. What a Moron I Am Was.

Have I mentioned my foray into the world of audiobooks? I'm in the middle of listening to Steve Martin's Shopgirl, which is okay, but listen, his second book, which I listened to first, is The Pleasure of My Company, and if you haven't read it, read it! It was so well written, reading/listening was like being enveloped by a rush of wonderfully used words and constructed sentences. Did that mean anything? I have no idea. But everyone should read this book.

Okay. Time to heat up the black bean soup.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Oprah
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here