the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Little More Me, Please 378

02.26.2004

7:22 pm

Things have been pretty heavy lately, so I thought I'd just write a good old fashioned update.

I went back to the nutritionist on Tuesday, and we began to venture into the area that whooshes right over my head: the whole "have 1 starch-1 fruit-1 meat-1 fat for breakfast" thing, and so on. It's the diabetic's diet, which is a healthy diet for everyone, but I just can't cope. Honestly, I don't know how my darling nephew J2 does it, but he's been diabetic since the age of 14, so I guess it's second nature to him after all this time. So I'm going to pass on that aspect of the diet for now. I'm eating a whole mess of low-fat, sugar-free stuff. So far, everything made with splenda just tastes like splenda, but I guess I'll get used to it. I know I haven't lost any weight yet, but that's not my main goal anyway. My cholesterol has got to be better, just because of the no saturated fat thing and the lots more fruit.

J2, mentioned above, is making his on-air radio debut tonight, and I'm so excited for him. He works in production in radio, but tonight he'll be on the air in Boston, which is so cool, and we can even listen to it on the Internet! Of course, he's on at 8, so there's a moral dilemma: family or Friends? Since I can't figure out how to record Internet radio, I guess I'll be taping Friends. Not that the radio show will make any sense to me -- it's about sports -- but damn I love this kid. Gotta listen, I guess.

Turns out I do have a sinus infection after all. I thought I had one all last week, then I got better, then not so much better ... arrgh. So now I'm taking (you guessed it) prednisone, but just for six days. This isn't so much for the infection (I've got antiobiotics for that), but for the polyp the great Dr. Katz found in there. He says that shrinking the polyp is a good plan, else I will be in agony (his words) on the plane.

Da Plane!! Yes, yes, in just 9 days I will be winging my way to the land of the British folk. And yet I am not packed. Either I am seriously not me anymore, or my compulsive streak is on the wane. Actually, I have stuff piled all over the suitcase standing in the living room, just not clothes yet. Okay, a few sweatshirts, but that's it, I swear.

We've been having the most incredible spring-not-spring weather these days. It's absolutely beautiful out: looks like spring, feels like spring. Except for the temperature in the high 30s/low 40s. It's so sunny and bright out, though; it's deceiving, so I wear a lighter jacket or just a sweatshirt and then I'm freezing my butt off. But tomorrow I think it may hit 50; the Chum and I are contemplating a walk out to the football field and around the track after lunch in place of the usual drive-around-town-for-smoking-purposes. No, I'm not smoking myself, I'm just keeping her company. It's been our time together during the school day for years now, and when I gave up smoking I didn't give that up. But tomorrow, perhaps, a nice walk instead.

That's me today in a nutshell.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here