the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

On the Radio 379

02.27.2004

6:41 pm

Here's the wonderfully surreal experience I had last night:

At 8:00, good auntie that I am, I tuned in to 1510 - The Zone, a Boston sports radio station, and began to hear the voice of my sweet nephew over the air. On the computer air. (If you look at the linked page, he's the guy at the bottom. His name isn't really John Gotti, but it's been his nickname for years, and now, his stage name.) There I was, listening, not getting any of it because it's a sports call-in show and what do I know about sports, but omigod, there's my sweet boy ON THE RADIO! It was amazing, it was incredible. The Sibs, who gets unbelievably tense when her kids perform, wasn't going to listen at all, but did, and called me about 8:15, all blown away, listening. We were so excited! I kept running into the other room to see if the Hubs was listening, and he was, but he was very laid-back about it, although I know he thought it was cool too.

So at 8:30, I fired off a congratulatory email, and was about to turn it off (because I can't listen to 3 hours of sports talk radio), and just then they took a phone call and it was J1, the radio personality's big brother, calling in from San Diego! So here I'm sitting at the computer, listening to my two nephews talk on the radio, one in California, one in Boston! This is as surreal as it gets, I'm thinking. I didn't want to call the Sibs in case she was still listening, but I wanted her to listen! As soon as J1 signed off, I did call; turns out her daughter couldn't resist the temptation and did call, so they were both shrieking and listening to the boys together. This was just incredible.

And of course the Sibs and I both had to think about Jack, born a Boston sports fan, and the radio star's absolute role model in life. He would have been so, so proud.

As am I. Love, love you, John Gotti.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching King of Queens
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here