the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Sunday 380

02.29.2004

4:51 pm

I don't know if I mentioned earlier in the week that I've got another sinus infection, and that I'm taking the dreaded prednisone again, along with the antiobiotics. It's not having much of a negative effect on me this time, fortunately, except that I'm hardly sleeping. When I do sleep, I have disturbing, although not actually frightening dreams, so there's a natural reluctance here actually to lie down and close my eyes. I must have been up and out of bed four or five times last night, each time trying to clear a troubling image out of my not-so-coherent mind. I tried to nap before, but I just couldn't. I'm a little fuzzy. Last day of the pills tomorrow, so maybe things will improve.

One week from this minute, I will be in Cardiff, Wales, in the United Kingdom.

Whenever I plan something big, I always have a vague sense that it will never really happen. Even a simple trip to DisneyWorld, where I've been many times, in anticipation seems something like a let's-pretend game. But going to Europe? Me? I don't go to Europe. (I go to DisneyWorld.) I'm having a tremendous attack of the can't-be-reals.

But not nerves. I'm past that, I'm over that. I'm packed, as of yesterday. All I have left to do is transfer the purse stuff into the carry-on next Saturday before I go, and remember to take the tickets and passports out of the fire-proof box. Have I ever mentioned the fire-proof box? I must have. I've had it almost a year. Here's why.

After Jack died, and it took us a week to find the title to his car, among other things (and he was pretty organized), R suggested that I get a fire-proof box, keep everything important in it, and when the Hubs and I die, she and K can just burn the house down, knowing that everything they'll need is safe and in one location.

Hehe. Love that black humor.

In my ongoing compulsion to change over all of my VHS tapes to DVD, I'm working on a strange one today: The Merchant of Venice. I saw this on TV maybe 30 years ago, before such a thing as a VCR was even thought of, and then maybe 15 years ago it was on, so I popped in a tape and got it. How long could I keep such a thing? What makes it amazing is that it's a made-for-TV version starring Laurence Olivier. It blew me away when I first saw it, but since then I guess I've seen a lot more Shakespeare, and it really is a relic of a performance, although Olivier's Shylock was known to be distinctly not anti-Semitic. Looks a little suspicious to me, though. About 10 years ago, maybe, Dustin Hoffman was in the Merchant on Broadway, and the Hubs, notoriously anti-live theater, took me for my birthday. Now that was a Merchant. It's a play that I like a lot, mostly because I don't look at it in the traditional way, which I don't care for. I liked Hoffman's interpretation, which was that all those people telling Shylock he had to believe in compassion instead of justice were actually ripping his heart out while they did it, treating him like crap, and laughing about it. They were no better than they accused him of being.

It's true. I'm a Shakespeare geek. And in about 10 days I'm going to be standing in the middle of the Globe Theatre.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I'm so excited I could just plotz!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Merchant of Venice
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here