the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

At the Sign of the Geek 384

03.04.2004

10:20 pm

Here's the sure sign of Geekus Americanus, circa 2004. Forget pocket protectors. It's carrying your flash thumb drives on your keychain, or on a lanyard around your neck.

Earlier this evening, as we were setting up the library for the coffee house, I realized that my thumb drives were not in my pocket (not on a keychain, oh no) where I thought they were. Why do I have two? One for my own files ($9.99 at Compusa) and one for all my school files, including the high school and library websites.

Gone.

Yes. I. Freaked. Out.

I raced home, and there they were, one of them still attached to the home computer, where I had left it after being home for about ten minutes between the dentist and the coffee house.

And now, proper little geek that I am, they are securely clipped to my monstrous jangle of keys and things, all of which hangs on one of those carabiner clips so that I can clip it to my belt loop so I don't lose the whole damn thing.

Ach. I am even too geeky for me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Cosby
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here