the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Soybeans Rule! 392

03.19.2004

7:19 pm

Well, you don't hear that everyday.

In my continued attempt to eat healthier, lose a little weight, and not die trying, I have discovered that soybeans are a "free" food.

I am in support of free foods.

And fortunately I like the soybeans, which are kind of like limas but they taste better and "pop" a little when you bite them. Since I can't eat popcorn or anything else crunchy, like normal people, I'll take what I can get. Until I came across the soybeans=free food about 15 minutes ago, I was ready to stew a cat and eat it. (Which is probably, like, 30 points.) And I had soybeans in the freezer, so I scarfed down a whole bunch. Much better than the bag of chips I attacked the other night.

Cosmicrayola has a quiz on her site (Happy Birthday, Jeffrey!) to find out which famous poet you are. I took the quiz. I would post the results, but I was not happy with them. Turns out I'm Emily Dickinson. Not! Not! I hate Emily Dickinson. (Her poems, of course, I have nothing against her personally.) I never read an Emily Dickinson poem that made a scrap of sense to me. Robert Frost, I understand. A whole lot of others, I appreciate, although my English teacher brain is apparantly on leave at the moment. My personal favorite poet (I'm not a major poetry fan) is someone named Richard Wilbur. Long story here that I won't go into. Suffice it to say that I understand what he writes.

The Friday Five has dissed me again; I didn't get the email. Nonetheless, it is Friday, and I know that, so here it is.

If you...

1. ...owned a restaurant, what kind of food would you serve?
Healthy comfort food with no calories.

2. ...owned a small store, what kind of merchandise would you sell? I think this store already exists, and it's called The Container Store. I love that place. Or maybe Harry Potter goods.

3. ...wrote a book, what genre would it be? A children's book.

4. ...ran a school, what would you teach? Ahhh. If I ran a school, I would teach ethics. If I were a classroom teacher (as opposed to a school librarian) I would teach English, which I'm certified for, or history, which I enjoy a lot.

5. ...recorded an album, what kind of music would be on it? Bad music. I cannot carry a tune, I have no rhythm.

I have decided to forgo the cutesy-pie font, for those of you who were able to get it. Not long ago, I copied a diary entry, pasted it right into Word, and sent it off to my nephew J1 to read. (The gay-marriage, rants, I believe.) Anyway, he said he just wasn't right; he's so used to seeing what I write in Comic Sans -- as if it's my handwriting -- that he had to convert it into Comic Sans before he could read it. I was amused, and even though I'm not so much a Comic Sans writer in general anymore, it seems better for the diary, so here it is.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here