the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Screwed 393

03.20.2004

4:19 pm

I swear to god, I thought soybeans were 0 points.

I should have known. After I ate them, I was actually not hungry for ten minutes. That should have been a dead giveaway. But I'm better with it today, for some reason. Tomorrow, says Scarlett, is another day.

Tomorrow is the MIL's birthday, the big 75. So the Hubs and I are driving down shoreward to visit with them, go out to lunch, etc. Should be scintillating. ;| The chosen lunch locale is some kind of Chinese food, so I'll check the list and see what's to eat in such a place and in what amount.

If you haven't guessed, what I'm attempting here is W8 Watchrs. Since going to meetings would so not be my thing, I'm doing it online, using their calculators, trackers, etc. But I do know someone who's been on it for a couple of years and has lost 75 POUNDS! and who's helping me out here and there. I'm very encouraged by the Sibs having lost 7 - 8 pounds in her first three weeks with the J. Craig thing, but I need a little more flexibility. The thought of just being given food and told "Eat this!" is very tempting for its simplicity, however. I'm going to give this a try and see how it goes. It's the portion size, that's the killer. Is there anyone in this country who understands what a normal portion of food is? When I was a kid, my mother put food on my plate and if I didn't finish it, my father made me sit there until I did. That's just the way children were raised, especially by Depression-era parents. But didn't we all learn to eat, if possible, until we were absolutely full and bursting? Isn't that how restaurants serve food if they want to be successful, in huge portions?

Perhaps more on this foolishness in the days to come. For now, I'm a little wild about Harry. He's calling me...

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Barney Miller on DVD
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here