the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Andromeda Strain 468

06.25.2004

7:50 pm

This so-so science fiction movie, circa 1971, is on TV at the moment (I'm not watching it, but I saw that it was on) and I chanced to mention this to the Hubs. I always point it out to him when I see that it's on TV.

We went to see The Andromeda Strain on our Very First Date Ever. This began the first of our dating cycles, the one that started right after high school and continued until about Thanksgiving of that same year. Not to be confused with the second and final dating cycle that began the summer after college.

Anyway, so I just told him it was on and he thought about it for a minute and then he said "It's a day early."

A day early? Wait. This is the guy who remembers dates the way other people remember ... well, nothing. He remembers dates like crazy.

I said to him "No. You're not telling me that tomorrow is actually the anniversary of our first date?"

He says that well, we graduated from high school on Thursday, June 24 and we went to see the movie on Saturday, two days later, so that was June 26. As tomorrow will be, Saturday, June 26. It's just 33 years later.

I don't even know that this merits a colossal "Awww." I don't think it reflects his sentimentality so much (although it may) as it does his phenomenal capacity for remembering dates. If you mentioned a date to him, like say, May 10, 1969, he could probably tell you the score of the Mets game that day and who pitched.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Everybody Loves Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here