the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Keeping the World Safe 469

06.28.2004

6:08 pm

for avatars everywhere. Here's another one from this place:



It's a semi-reasonable rendition of the Hubs; he only wears suits to work and only sometimes, but I couldn't find a body that was more like the 25-year-old t-shirts and $4.00 pants from the Target sales rack that he generally wears at home. Also, he has a bit more beard than this, but not as much as the full Santa-version that was the only alternative. His hair was completely gray by the time he was 30, and white by 40 or 45, which looks quite good on him. I knew this was coming, since I met his father when I was in fourth grade, and the FIL must have been no more than 35 then and was already gray. Okay, enough of that.

My big plans for the week involve having the cat stink cleaned out of the carpet tomorrow -- I'll believe it when I smell it -- and going for a pre-surgery physical on Wednesday. My surgery isn't for two weeks yet (July 12) and it is completely nothing, just another try at getting the eyelid right so my cornea won't dry out over time. Most people get this kind of procedure to lift their eyelids, but I'm having it lowered, and just the right eyelid. I've had it before; this will be the third attempt to fix what some moron opthalmologist did to it just a couple of days after the Big Brain Surgery of 1991. Really, the hardest part of this whole procedure is going to be waking K up at 5 AM to get me to the hospital. I thought it would be good experience for her to take me, since it's such an easy procedure, I won't be totally out with a general, and so on. Last time I had this (about three years ago, I think), I felt so clear afterwards that I could have driven home myself, albeit with a patch over one eye, so I guess that wouldn't have been a good plan, but it's not like I'll need any kind of care later in the day. I may milk it a ittle, though, if I can. After all, I catered to her when she had her wisdom teeth out last month, which you may recall, sucked. For me. A lot. (Yes, it sucked for her, too. She can write about it in her diary.)

We're also planning to go see the big Fahr 9/11 movie this week. The Hubs hasn't been to a movie in years, and says he doesn't need to go to this one because he's already convinced. Yes. He had all the same conspiracy theories before we ever heard that Moore was making a movie. I don't think that's the point. Even the Sibs went to see F 9/11, and she rarely goes to movies, but she said it was maybe the most moving film she's ever seen. I don't need to be convinced either, but I don't think that's why we go to movies, is it?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here