the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

What's Worse Than Catstinky Carpet? 470

06.29.2004

4:45 pm

Apparently it's freshly steam-cleaned carpet with the catstink still evaporating out of it. Eeeuuww. I live for the day I can rip that stuff up, but it's pointless as long as the cats are still among us. I know this is only a stopgap measure, anyway. Already, more than you needed to know.

K is going to work shortly, working 5 to 10 today, and the Hubs just called that he's going out after work (but will call if he's going to late so I don't explode) and so now I'm thinking of what I can do when I'm all alone. I have my dinner all planned out; I'm so excited. I ate low points today, and I just happened to notice K grabbing a bite before going off to work: it seems she picked up some frozen Wite Castle Cheeseburgers yesterday. Oh yum. Oh heaven. Of favorite of favorite fast/junk foods. I haven't had a cheeseburger since Hector was a pup. And these are so little ... I can have two ... it's only 7 points, can you imagine, 7 little points. I'm already drooling, and I'm not even going to be eating them for an hour or two.

I could go out somewhere, maybe Barnes and Noble. Or I could read a book I already have, which would be the thing to do, now, wouldn't it? I got a copy of The Notebook from my sister; I'm breaking down and giving in and finally reading Nicholas Sparks. She says I'll love it. My impression from the movie commercials is that it's a sappy, predictable, heart-wrenching romance, which means she's right, and I'll love it. One of the best reads of all time was The Bridges of Madison County, which you never see on reading lists anymore, even my own, but I did love reading that. I'm expecting this to be in a similar vein.

Maybe I'll exercise. Stop laughing at me. I've been doing it some, really I have, and this morning I went through all those articles I've clipped out and put them together and came up with an actual sort of routine to do. I could do it. Really I could.

I may have mentioned that I'm going to the doctor tomorrow morning for a kind of mini-physical; I had a physical in January, but the eyelid surgeon needs me to have certain tests within two weeks of the surgery for medical clearance, so I need to re-do a bunch of things I already did. Plus a fasting blood test for cholesterol, which I have about four times a year anyway, and a blood pressure check. What I'm really looking forward to is that the last time I saw my doctor, he was adjusting bp and cholesterol meds and I was at my top weight. I wonder if he'll notice the difference. (I've been seeing this doctor since about 1978; he was my father's doctor, too, and is my sister's.) So I could be getting a big ego boost in the morning, which would be nice, no?

Hah! The first thing I'm going to do when I'm alone is take off my hearing aids! I don't know why this fills me with glee; they're not really uncomfortable to wear, but most people take their shoes off when they're home (I don't, but that's another story), so it's kind of like that. Adding another subtle level of comfort, since I don't have to try to make out words of other people in the room talking to me.

It's HP and the Half-Blood Prince, is it? I only hope it comes out in this decade. I've been reading so much fan-fiction lately that I can hardly remember what was in the real books and what I've read online. Oh right, all the sex is online, since the books are about children. (No, I'm not a sicko, the online sex only takes place among adult characters. And it's incidental to the plot. Again, time to stop now.)

In keeping with the randomness of this entry, here's a photograph of Dennis, who is now residing in my family room, after being discovered in K's luggage wrapped in towels. He was a birthday gift from R to K three or four years ago; R could barely contain her excitement at giving her sister this incredibly cool gift. Her excitement was only outdone this year, when she got her sister a monocle for her birthday. Presenting Dennis:



On to tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here