the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

2nd Entry: A Sentimental Journey 471

06.29.2004

5:48 pm

My real (and cranky) entry for today is here; this is a kind of short p.s. I was flipping channels just now (when K isn't home, I get to work the remote) and I came across the end of a movie called "Sentimental Journey." I looked it up; it was made in 1946, starring John Payne and Maureen O'Hara. I saw it when I was about 14 or 15, when it was on TV one afternoon. There used to be a daily afternoon movie that started at 4:00 or 4:30 and went until 6:00 when the news came on, back in the day before the news started at like 4:00.

In my house, dinner at 5:00 was sacred. My father got home from work by 4:55 and at 5:00 we ALL sat down to eat. There was no getting out of this. No "I'm not hungry" or "I don't feel like eating that." No wiggle room here. 4:30 to 5:00 was usually reserved for us helping Shirl get dinner on the table, too.

So I was watching this movie in the den, which was just downstairs from the kitchen (it was a split level). It must have been spring; I remember sunlight streaming in through the window which was high on the wall. It's a real weeper of a flick, about a woman who adopts a child and then dies and the husband doesn't want the child, etc., etc., etc. I was watching, I was loving it, I was a teary mess.

Just before five, Shirl called me for dinner and I answered incoherently, "I'm coming!" or something like that. When I didn't come -- I was maybe ten feet away from her -- she called again, more insistently, as mothers will do. Finally, she came angrily to the top of the stairs and demanded that I come up to eat.

I told her, as best I could, what I was watching. She paused a moment, and then told me to keep watching, that I could eat later.

She only did this one more time, that I can remember, when I was reading Gone With the Wind, and she let me keep on reading -- and crying -- instead of coming to the table.

Ah, she loved a good weeper, did Shirl. It was a very cool thing that she did, for a fifties/sixties mom. I knew it then, too. Very cool.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching channel flipping
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here