the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Tasking On 491

07.22.2004

8:14 pm

Well, I haven't killed anyone yet.

Did I do anything today? I must have -- it's after seven, and I've been awake for over twelve hours. I didn't read a book. Okay, I paid a few bills. I took the Hubs' car (which is really R's car) in for service and walked the mile home, so at least I walked a little.

Oh ... I reached my goal weight today. I won't get excited about it until I've stayed this weight for at least a few days; then I'll know it's real. I could weigh two or three more pounds in the morning, so I'll see.

I finally got my furniture today, but I'm not taking any pictures until I clean it up (from the packing dust, etc.) and get all the tchotchkes in place. I have many fine tchotchkes, most of which have been put away somewhere for years and years and years. Now I also have my share of my mother's tchotchkes, so some of those are going out, too. The major theme of this room, when it's done, will be wood and old books. I started collecting antique books when I was about ten, and although I don't actively pursue it much, I still have everything, and the Hubs, years ago, collected antique law books, so we've got a bunch of those, too. The walls in the living room are pretty bare, but the wall motif will be antique maps, which the Hubs does enjoy. About five years ago, someone gave him a giant map of New Jersey (about three and half feet across by about five feet high) that's maybe 100 years old, and we have it framed on the wall of the family room, but we're going to move it to the living room and frame a couple more that we have. One year for some occasion he gave me an old map he'd ordered from somewhere of the little town in Massachusetts my father grew up in, and he has others as well.

It's like finally getting around to changing the living room and making it nice and making it more a reflection of who we are is like finally getting my health under control and realizing that it was in my power all along to take charge and make changes. Oooh, philosophy.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Scrubs
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here