the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Not Yet Washed Away 492

07.23.2004

4:49 pm

We have survived the day -- so far -- amidst constant flash flood warnings and random power failures. When I first went out this morning around 9:00, it wasn't even raining, but it started by 10:15. At which point I said to myself "It's only rain!" and I persevered in my relentless tasking. I've been to Pier One, I've been to Treasure Island, and of course, to the Pottery Bahn. The main road I was taking to all these places was flooded out in a few places, so it a) took forever and b) was not the best route to take back, so I didn't.

Here's my shining moment of the day. As I was pulling into the parking lot where the PB is, I was thinking about my route out. Hmm, north ... no wait, the river's right there, right alongside the road. South ... no wait, the river's right there, too! Why am I so close to the river wherever I go?

Duh. The PB is in a mall called Riverside Square. How far, exactly, did I think I was going to get from the rising waters of the Hackensack?

The mail just came -- it's 4:30 in the afternoon -- and it's soaked and was all crunched up in a ball in the mailbox. One of the little balls, unfortunately, was a check, which I guess I'm going to have to lay out somewhere to dry before I take it to the bank.

K just left for work. I think I did a very good job of not showing her how FREAKED OUT I am by her driving in this weather. She did ask if I wanted her to call me when she arrives, and I said casually "Oh, it's up to you, whatever" instead of "UHHH ... Yeah!"

Just before, I exacted a promise from the Sibs to come over and help me arrange all the tchochkes in the living room once all the furniture is in place. She has a particular flair for this, and you know, she lives, like two miles away. But she NEVER comes to my house. When she lived two blocks away, I was at her house a lot. Here's why, she says, she can't come here: her husband is intensely allergic to cats. This I know to be true, because the first time (of two) that he did come into my house, he was standing inside the door for about a minute, and I saw his eyes go all puffy and red and he started to sneeze. I can see that he's allergic. She says that if she comes into the house for even a moment, cat dander will catch on her clothes and then he'll get sick when she goes home. Well ....

I think it's more likely that she doesn't like to go places (which she doesn't) and she wasn't so fond of the cat smell, and this is the way she chose to address the issue without "hurting my feelings." I don't know, my sister refusing to come into my house for any reason pretty much hurt my feelings. So now I swear to her that the carpet is gone and I vacuum the rugs every day (I actually do; I can't believe it) and so she says she'll come over. This remains to be seen, I think, but it's something for me to look forward to.

And now that I've vacuumed for Friday, I'm going to post this and eat something! I'm starved!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here