the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Jimmy's On Fire! 495

07.27.2004

6:41 pm

(paraphrased title courtesy of Dr. Evil.)

I watched the convention last night, and I liked it.

Oh, I remember conventions in years past that were more exciting or dynamic. I remember watching the states cast their ballots, and all the drama that surrounded that, when certain states were committed to giving their votes on the first ballot to the "favorite son" candidate, and no one would win the clear majority on the first ballot and then all bets were off and the race was on. There would be suspense, wondering what would happen, who would say what, and so forth. It wasn't all pre-ordained through the state primaries. They'll still be casting ballots, on Wednesday, I think, but that part isn't a big deal so much anymore.

What I liked last night, of course, were the speeches that we got to see, even though the TV news now decides for us which speeches we do get to see; they don't show a lot of them because they want to keep talking and talking. (I know, I could watch it on C-SPAN, I guess, and see the real thing. I was lazy.) Anyway, I liked Gore; if he had been this amusing and relaxed four years ago, maybe the outcome would have been different. Oh wait, I forgot ... he won that election. But yes, he was good last night, and brief. And Clinton, well ... as the Sibs said today, "He's a rock star!" That sure is the way everyone reacted to him. If he could run again, I'd vote for him again, so that's about the sum of Clinton.

It was Jimmy Carter that blew me away. The more he spoke, the lower my jaw dropped. I was just amazed. You don't hear that kind of blunt talk, do you? Is it the privelege of his age? His military service? His brilliance? Hey, maybe it's his NOBEL PRIZE.

I always liked Jimmy Carter. He wasn't the best president, no argument there, but what a fascinating man. Jack always found him very intriguing, and boy, he would have loved that speech last night, no holds barred. He also thought Carter was a terrible president, but probably the most intelligent man who'd ever been president. He said once that Carter's problem was that he was so intelligent, he could always see every side to every problem, every ramification, and could understand every point of view, and it was hard for him to make decisions because of it.

But I loved watching him last night. It was K who said, while he was speaking, "Jimmy's on fire!" I couldn't have agreed more.

She just asked me who's speaking tonight, and I told her. I think she asked just to make me say Barack Obama again.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here