the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Obama for Veep in '12 496

07.28.2004

7:20 pm

Last night, as I was converted into a C-SPAN devotee, I watched Barack Obama give his speech and I was converted to an Obama-lover as well. K said we should move to Illinois just so we could vote for him for senator this year.

And did you see that 12 year old kid who started the Kids for Kerry campaign? How she had the presence to get up there and speak, I don't know. I wonder if she wrote her own speech? If so, then really, wow.



I swear, I did absolutely nothing yesterday. I don't know how I passed the time. I decided that today would be different, and I made a tidy little list and ran around the house like a dynamo all morning. I cleaned! It seems that I do know how after all. (Not the whole house, of course. Pshaw.) And hung up some things on the living room wall that I brought back from the U.K. in March.



(That's two framed cards from the Globe gift shop, one with the Ages of Man on it, and the other with the most famous stage directions in theatre: "Exit, Pursued by a Bear." The other items are Welsh love spoons, which is the thing to bring home from Wales. It's kind of like their national thing, that and red dragons, which are their national symbol.)

My back is much, much better. I was even able to carry some of the boxes I'd packed up in the family room down to the basement. I was going to lift the great big framed antique map off the wall so I could bring it with me to the framing place and get another little map framed to match, but oops, K heard a funny noise in her car this morning, so I had her take my car to work. No way I was going to fit that big thing in her little sedan. Another day, perhaps.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here