the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Heart the UPS Man 497

07.29.2004

6:27 pm

K and I went out to lunch today with the Sibs and Wonderful Niece, had a nice time, also went shoe shopping, oh boy, and my only condition was that I had to be home by four since the rest of the furniture was coming today. Never in the nearly 19 years that we've lived in this house has the big brown truck come before 4:30, and all recent deliveries, since there's a new guy on the route, have been after 5:30.

We got home at 2:30 and I could see the UPS sticky note on the storm door. Crap! He'd been there! It would be a note telling me that he'd come back tomorrow! And here I'd been worried that he would just leave them on the porch, two gigantic cartons, and we wouldn't even be able to open the front door.

But what a guy. I guess he'd gotten the message from previous deliveries that I was ... concerned ... about getting all this stuff, so it said on the note that he'd left them in the garage. (It's a detached garage, which fortunately for all concerned, the Hubs has just been cleaning out. It was a landfill before.) So there they were! And with a handtruck and a whole lot of leverage -- not lifting, just leverage -- I managed to get them in the house, unpacked, cleaned off, and all set up:



Still work to do here, but at least I got the furniture and it's where it belongs. (The pieces on the left -- it's a base and a top -- are the ones that came today, and are therefore empty.) Listen, this is a big deal for me. The chairs were my mother's, the couch was my sister's. I'm the Queen of All Hand Me Down Furniture. New from a trendy store is heretofore unexplored territory for me.

In other news, and I never thought I'd say this, EVER, I really liked Al Sharpton's speech last night. I mean, who'd'a thunk it? I never noticed Kucinich much before, but he was pretty impressive, too. And Edwards, doesn't he just look like the one Hollywood would cast in the role? I'm not saying this is good or bad or anything, just that it is.

The content of the speeches is all just rhetoric, of course. Some speeches are just more enjoyable to watch. Do I believe everything they say? Well, no, of course not. That would be incredibly naive. I do think Bush is everything F 9/11 said about him and more, and that he's gotta go. Kerry is the current alternative. I don't think he's especially evil or criminal, and I do know that he's a politician. I don't think he's the panacea. I just think he's the not-Bush, and at the moment, that's all I'm looking for. But the convention is fun to watch, since the stuff they're promoting is the stuff I agree with. I don't know that the next one will be fun at all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here