the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now About That Little Statue 505

08.07.2004

3:54 pm

I think this is the one that inkdragon asked me about:



It's in the bigger picture of all the stuff, but it wasn't very clear. I had to put it on the windowsill for a minute to get better light for the picture. While I was at it, I took this one, too:



Back in the day, in the swinging 70s, these Lladro figurines were all the rage. My friend E still has about a dozen of them, all great big ones about a foot high, in her living room, that she's collected over the years. My mother had two: a great big one of Don Quixote, which is missing its sword, so I didn't put it out, and the little shiny one of the boy with the lamb.

When I went to the U.K. thirty years ago, when I was still in college, this is what I brought back for my mother. Yes, we know that they're from Spain, and not the U.K. But it was one of the things you could get cheap there then, various kinds of fine china pieces. Shirl was a big fan of the Ll, and at that time had just the one grandchild, as J1 was only a few months old, so I got her a little boy.

It's hard to see in the picture, but this one was broken once, too; the head is glued back on. One of my girls dropped it when she was little. Shirl was plenty upset about, but just fixed it and didn't go nuts on the kid, since it was an accident. (I think the kid tripped and knocked over the table it was on.) The glue shows, but it's okay, and I wanted to put it out since I was the one who got it for Shirl in the first place.

The boy with the book is bigger, and not shiny, which bothered me at first. I was all like "Oh, I'm collecting these; they have to match" and all that crap. They don't have to match. I believe the book boy was a wedding gift, but I don't recall from whom. Whoever it was, she must have gotten this one because of the book, I'm a librarian, etc. I do love it, and I've loved it more over the years. I didn't have most of this stuff out, not since my kids were big enough to walk (I learned that lesson), but every so often I would see it in a drawer or a box with other stuff, and I've come to like it a lot.

More treasures, perhaps, in the days to come.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here