the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Uhh ... 506

08.09.2004

10:31 pm

It's 10:00 (and I know where my children are), so I figured it was time to check out tomorrow's S&S, and in so doing I remembered that I had completely forgotton to write my own entry today. Duh. It's not as if every moment of my day is filled with fascinating adventures. I spend the day doing virtually nothing, and baby, I'm loving it. I'm horrified at the prospect of going back to school on September 1.

But I did go in to school for a few hours this morning to get some work done ahead of time, and so I have an amusing Psycho anecdote to relate. Not evil (as per usual), more ... well, you decide.

I got to school around 9:30 and stopped in her office first, since I had to clear up a minor email misunderstanding from last Friday. She was in good/social mode this morning, or whatever passes as that for her. When she saw me, she greeted me warmly -- she didn't get up from her chair, thank god, but gave me a warm, cheery hello -- and then said "You lost weight! Are you well?"

Way to go, asshole. My reaction time must be improving with age, because instead of getting all "What? Huh? Uh ..no, I'm fine" and the like, as I would have in my youth, I instead a gave it a thoughtful pause and then said, with a bit of attitude, "I'm fine. I lost weight on purpose. Y'know, W8 Watchers." And she said, "Well, you look great!"

And there you have it. In the first blink I looked sick, and then I looked "great." Let me tell you, folks, I have not overlost weight. I am not a shadow, or a wraith. I am not thin. (Of course, I'm small; I've always been small. It's not the same thing.) I don't look unwell. She sure is a piece of work.



On another topic entirely, we had lunch/dinner with the ILs yesterday -- a long story in and of itself -- and the MIL was telling us about a trip she and the FIL went on last Sunday from their adult community, where a busload of them went to New York City and went on the Circle Line cruise. This is the scenic cruise that goes around Manhattan island, a recorded guide points out all the sights, etc. The MIL is mad for this cruise, BTW, and made us all go on it once for their anniversary about ten years ago. So I'm listening, sort of, and all of a sudden I realize:

New York City was under an elevated terrorist alert and they didn't stop the sight-seeing cruise that goes around Manhattan? On a boat? All around the freaking island?

Sounds to me like someone (other than me, that is) was maybe not taking this whole threat thing too seriously. Like maybe someone knew that it was less than actually threatening. I'm just saying.



On another topic, almost entirely, while we were sitting at the table in the restaurant waiting for our food, my nephew did indeed pull out his cell phone and text someone (his father told him to put it away, which he did when he was finished), and then he later answered the phone when it rang and talked to a friend for a moment. (His mother told him to put the phone away.) He seems to be a nice kid; I don't really know him that well, but sheesh. He's not a little kid; he's 19. Is that rude, or what, talking on the cell phone when you're out in a nice restaurant with your grandparents?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching nothing's on
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here