the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Drifting With the Tide 508

08.11.2004

7:46 pm

If possible, I actually did less today than I did yesterday. My days are aimless, purposeless. And yet I'm rarely bored, and not at all unhappy. It's a far cry from the years when I knew I had to work during the summers, too, because if I didn't go to work, I didn't sleep at night. At all. Well, I'm sleeping just fine -- for me, that is; I still get up and watch TV from 2 to 3 AM -- and all this drifting, it's okay. Perfectly okay with me.

K and I went out this afternoon to hit the OTC drug/beauty supplies/bandaid shelves, to stock up for her Sojourn In A Foreign Land, and got caught in yet another monsoon on our way home. In fact, we had another stop to make, but when we got there, it was raining too hard to get out of the car. When the Hubs got home, he asked if we had experienced Armageddon this afternoon as well, and we had. This has been the strangest summer. I don't think we're having more rainstorms than normal, but every one of them is a humdinger. Each storm comes complete with black skies, torrential downpours, and dramatic lightning.

It's not easy to find stuff to write about when you don't do anything at all. I'm just saying. Well, I go back to work in a few weeks, so that should provide adequate fodder, not to mention angst.

I'm going to eat my ice cream now.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here