the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

One Day Later 510

08.13.2004

6:25 pm

K made herself a button to wear last night:



In the meantime, her sister, currently living in the Land of the Welsh, caught the news on Yahoo or something and emailed me, with the subject "What?!?!?", which was curiously similar to the title of my entry yesterday. I was amused. I had not left her uninformed, but my email to her must not have gotten through before she emailed me. We are a good mommy and daddy, and do our best to keep our chidren informed of all political news, not to mention scandals.

Speaking of the little ingrates, I took K to the train today so she could spend the weekend in DC with her college friends before going away, and it was once again an Amtrak afternoon, as her train was an hour late -- make that two hours -- it took forever to get the information from the ticket booth -- and then, without warning, another train showed up and she got on. So she was only an hour delayed after all. But did she call me when she arrived to let me know she was still living? Did she call you? I didn't think so.

Yes, I finally called her. I wanted to eat dinner without my stomach being all twisted in a knot. Yes, yes, I know I'm nuts in this regard. It's in the blood. Have I ever mentioned that once, when I was about 10, and out riding my bicycle with friends, my mother found my grandfather, worried beyond all sanity, standing in the closet, just waiting for me to come home safe? He didn't want to worry my mother by letting her see how worried he was. Ahem. (And after that, when he was visiting, I walked. I loved him too much to do that to him again.)

Where was I? Well, she left the coffee table cleared off, anyway. And if we get leftover hurricane rains on Sunday, as they're predicting, I won't have to deal with shore traffic on the Parkway when I go to pick her up. Yeah, that's the ticket.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here