the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And Then the Earth Shook 525

08.31.2004

12:27 pm

I bought a skirt yesterday. Not an ankle length skirt; I own a couple of those, although I never wear them. An actual, above-the-knee, cute, denim skirt. At The Gap.

I have not worn a knee length skirt or dress in years, many years. Maybe ten. But not for the reasons that might come to mind. My weight was never in my legs or hips or rear, so it wasn't that I looked bad in a skirt. It was mostly the shoes. Once I vowed never to wear anything but comfortable shoes and ESPECIALLY NEVER heels, it put the whole skirt/dress thing into a quandry. I could wear a skirt, but what would I wear on my feet? And pantyhose? Please. Once I realized that never wearing heels = not wearing skirts = no need for pantyhose, I was in heaven.

But I bought the skirt because, really, it's very cute. And it has some magical properties as well, because when I put it on, all that belly flab that's here to stay, even if I lose another 95 pounds, goes right into hiding. And this means that, miracle of miracles, I can wear a shirt tucked into the waistband of the skirt.

Listen, I haven't been tucking in since 1980, which is even years before the skirt ban. It was just not a look I liked on me. But now I can wear a skirt and tuck in. I had to go out and buy a belt, even. I haven't even owned a belt in a generation.

So I'm thinking I may wear this tomorrow on the first day of school, just because I can. (If my mother were alive, she'd have me stand on the front porch, holding my schoolbag and my lunch, and take a picture. Got a few of those first-day-of-school shots laying around.) I'll probably have to speak to the high school staff anyway about the library and the Internet and such (library: closed, no circulation system, not cleaned up after the summer. Internet: anybody's guess.), so I can look all perky and small and pretend to be someone I'm not, because, let's face it, I wear jeans every single day, and I have all intentions of continuing to do so.

The only thing is ... shoes, gotta figure out the shoes. Merrell mocs or sneakers? I've got a short menu here. I'll figure out something.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Full House
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here