the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Mostly, It Was the Worst of Times 526

09.01.2004

5:31 pm

But I looked so cute.



Yes *sigh*, it's me. Ink said she wanted to see my first day of school picture, so here it is. Listen, I don't photograph so well anymore -- I look better when I'm alive moving, but I really did like the outfit. Remember though, this is not what I look like every day. I always wear jeans, and I only wore the red glasses today because I was wearing a red shirt. (The regular glasses are rimless.) There, posterior covered.

Anyway, the morning began most inauspiciously, as I had no computer at my desk, giant computer boxes on the table in front of my desk, and no working circulation system or library catalog. Worse, the incredibly dreaded superintendent's meeting was called for 9, and I couldn't get the decaf coffee pot to give me any coffee.

(Years past, I dreaded the superintendent's meeting because the FIL was the superintendent of schools, and once R was born, he began the meeting every year by advertising her newest accomplishments to the whole school district staff, such as "R can now pull herself up to stand", or "R learned to count this summer, ace, two three." I was embarrassed at the time, but it was really very sweet.)

The current guy thinks that it's his job to pump us up somehow, but really, we'd just like to get to work. He had three different groups of elementary school kids perform for us, each singing two songs, which took up 45 minutes we could have been setting up our rooms. And why oh why would any music teacher have fifth graders sing "Let's Do the Timewarp Again?" and "Flashdance"? Yeah, a little icky.

Then all the requisite welcome back to school speeches, and just when we thought we were getting out, he brought out a motivational speaker! Crap. As someone observed afterwards, if we need that much motivation on the first day of the school year, we're really in trouble.

I had to leave the meeting to go to the ladies' room. Three times. Old ladies like me can't sit for that long, bub.

But when I got back to the library, I had my new computer, circulation and the catalog worked, and right after lunch, someone came and moved the computers. Score.

Did I mention that one of my caps fell out this morning while I was having breakfast? Cold cereal, and not grape nuts or anything. So I'm off to the dentist now to get it stuck back in, but first, I told Ink that I was inspired by her yesterday (to put up my first day of school picture) and today, where she has the most adorable picture of her most adorable boys when they were little. So, in honor of the first day of school ...



R, first grade



K, second grade

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here