the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Don't Hate Me 546

09.27.2004

9:10 pm

I wrote a long entry for today which I decided not to post, but the upshot of it -- presented here without the whiny apology, except for the title -- is that my diet has been so succesful that I've lost four pounds beyond my goal weight and I seem to be having some difficulty in the stopping of losing weight. Hmm. There's a bit more to it than that, but I'm not sick and I don't think I look unwell, I just need to not lose any more weight. I tried eating a nice shrimp parmagiana for lunch yesterday (out with the ILs) and it was so good and so rich that I was sick all night. So maybe I didn't think things through.

Interesting it is to share the house with yet another adult. It's not as clean because I'm not keeping it as clean. You know, I never did learn to clean with the children around, which was part of my former problem with all that. R is not as disorderly as ... some other ... people I could name. But when she's home, she likes company, and I like her company, so I don't seem to have my time structured the way it was. She's been home less than a week, and so is not employed just yet or back in the swing with friends. It will work out, and probably before too long. She's impatient to get a job, any job, and then my time will fall back into some kind of routine.

Saw a kid at school today with a t-shirt that said "Big Hands. Big Feet. You Do the Math." I suggested to him that unless this is something that he would wear in front of his grandmother and explain to her, he might want to re-think wearing it to school. He was really a very polite, nice boy, and said that he would definitely not wear it to school again. I'm guessing that it never occurred to him that any teacher would know what it meant.

Sleeptime for me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Degrassi
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here