the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Pox On Me 554

10.05.2004

7:18 pm

Whatever it is that's going around, it looks like I'm about to get it. First the SCM was all whiny last week (when he tried in vain to gain my sympathy for one of his ears being all blocked up, boo frickety hoo) and then the Colleague has gotten all red nosey, and I'm next. I've had some good old fashioned ear throbbing for the last week, which I always get when my sinuses or ears are congested, and then I had all these dizzy moments this morning, which is probably from that too. Yes, I'm a barrel of laughs, and this isn't even what I was going to write about.

What was I going to write about?

Actually, I wanted to remark on two entries that I read today, both of which I found very moving. I get excited by really good writing, or even acting, that's so good that it really makes you feel what the writer/actor is feeling. That's magic. I was able to leave a comment on one, but not the other (since it has no comments page or guestbook), so here I am.

Ah, little animals. Pets; I like companion animals as a more descriptive term. I had a discussion with someone once about whether or not animals have souls, which is apparently a topic of discussion in some religions, but of course, I never had any religious instruction, so I only know what I believe myself. Do you know? Are you sure? Today, inkdragon wrote about a much loved companion animal, and I don't think it leaves much room for doubt. You love them, then they got souls. Beautiful entry.

Then I went over to see what the self-proclaimed nebshit had to say today. Gee. First, let me just say that you don't have to be a single mother to have self-doubts; I think it pretty much comes with the whole mother territory. That aside, she just had the kind of day that a mother waits for. I felt her doubt, I felt her joy. A good read.

Thanks.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here