the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

No Trophy For You! 555

10.06.2004

7:24 pm

My school, as it happens, has a champion debate team. They consistently take top honors in county tournaments, which I know because each year they hold one in my library. Three years ago we had the second or third nationally ranked champion debater. Let me tell you, any one of the kids on the team would do better than both of those guys did last night. At least they would have answered the questions they were asked. If not, they would lose big points and not win the big trophy and their coach would eat them alive.

I was not terribly impressed, although, as expected, Cheney looked like Satan and Edwards had good hair. I do think Edwards is adorable in a pinch-his-cheek little boy kind of way. And I think Cheney must sound very warm and comforting to people who agree with him and don't think that he is 100% incapable of uttering truth. But both of them were only there to go for the jugular and make parallel campaign speeches. Neither had to look or be especially presidential, since they're not running for that. As for which one of them I'd rather have step in in case of emergency? No question. I'm not eager to have Satan as my president.

I did, however, enjoy the Kerrys on Dr. Phil today. I find them very natural (even though I know they're both coached and well-prepared) as oppposed to plastic and scary. Okay, enough.

Speaking of The Daily Show -- I must have been speaking of it somewhere there -- the guest on Monday night, which I saw on Tuesday at seven, was Desmond Tutu. Yes, Archbishop Desmond Tutu was on The Daily Show. Jon Stewart said at the end of the interview that the Archbishop was the nicest person he had ever met. I think this is probably true. I had never seen him on TV before, only read or heard about him, and I found him to be a remarkably delightful and inspirational man, even in the bizarre context in which he appeared. I couldn't help but order his new book right away. I'll let you know how it is. A little inspiration never hurts, huh?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here