the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Ooooh 568

10.20.2004

4:28 pm

I wrote a whole entry about poetry last week, which I never posted, and then golfwidow had this meme, which she got from someone else:

Post a piece of poetry you enjoy.

So this. I enjoy it. Always have.

This Is Just to Say

by William Carlos Williams

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold


According to today's weekly litterbox liner newspaper, the town's new recreation center, which they're about to break ground for, will have an indoor walking track, and the high school's new addition will be facing additional cuts, among them, no alcove in the library. To which I reply:

WOO HOO! An indoor walking track! And ..

I was supposed to be getting an alcove? Where was that? What are they actually taking out? Not that I care, but it would be nice to know.



Can you believe that Wal-Mahrt will not sell, along with morning after pills and various other things deemed unacceptable by the conservative world, Jon Stewart's book? Which would be a total who-gives-a-damn, except there are all kinds of places where the WM is indeed the only game in town, so that sucks. What is it with some of these folk who totally support the 4th amendment (it's the 4th, right, the gun one?) but not the 1st? (Freedom of speech, no censorship, all that stuff.)



My final revelation of the day is that since all the new budgeting procedures in New Jersey education -- a horror, by the way -- that in the future, the only freedom individual school districts will have with their own budgets will be in the area of staffing. That means staff cutting. This is when I realized that when I retire in four or five years, I will most likely not be replaced. What I do is not significant enough to have someone else continue to do it in the future. I'm just speculating, of course, but it's sure looking that way. Sobering thought, that.

I'm off for an evening of Coffee Housing.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here