the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Yum 569

10.21.2004

5:32 pm

I'm just sitting here waiting for the 5:00 Gilmore Girls while I leaf through the issue of W8 Watchers magazine that came in the mail today while I'm inhaling a Quizno's sub I just picked up before. As I led with, yum.

I don't suppose the media at large has noticed that the long Red Sox dry spell coincided pretty closely with the length of my father's whole life. It's not the curse of the Bambino, it was the curse of Jack! He practically grew up in Fenway Park (when it was new, I might add); an older neighbor boy would take him on the bus or train or whatever into Boston from the time he was seven or eight years old. He told me once that he only learned to read as a child so that he could follow the Red Sox in the sports pages of the newspapers. He stopped living in Massachusetts full time when the war broke out -- or when he went to college, really, so that was in 1937 -- but he only gave up the Sox for the Mets in the 80s. He never went the extra mile and became a Yankees fan, even though my mother was a born and bred Bronx girl, and both his grandsons went bigtime for the Bombers. (My cousin J2 lives in Boston now, so I'm thinking it's not a good week for him.) Anyway, my dad, 1919 - 2003, never saw the Sox win the Series. Well, we'll see, chickens, we'll see.

How's this for The Big Suck? K's midterms were over yesterday (no, not that) and now she has a week off (no, not that either), so the school office for the American students there is closed. And that's where they get their mail, since it's not reliably delivered to their apartment building; all their mail is addressed to the office, which they have no access to until November 2. And guess what important little item had not arrived as of last night?

That would be her absentee ballot. Yes, that. I gathered from her email that she's not the only one of the group in this predicament. This is most likely -- definitely -- the first presidential election these people are eligible to vote in, and their ballots are non-existent. I guess it wasn't only the good old Bergen County clerk that didn't put two and two together and realize that it might take longer for mail to get to EUROPE and maybe it should have been sent out a little earlier. Not arriving yesterday means it took 9 days to not get there. I'm plenty pissed, but K and the others have some sense that they can go to the American Consulate and get some kind of emergency ballots. Let's freaking hope so. If Kerry loses New Jersey by one vote, heads will roll, I tell you!

That was the best sandwich I ever had.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here