the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Vegetating 597

11.26.2004

5:27 pm

I did nothing all day; you'd think that I could have written a diary entry before five o'clock.

Although yesterday's festivities turned out to be excellent, I was very bummed about the whole thing for most of the day since I was facing Sibs conflict, which I totally hate. And she didn't even know about it, which is weirder. Her edict about "Less food, less food!" made me feel that I was making almost nothing, even though I knew she and J3 were cooking up a storm. I am really glad I didn't go with the whole ridiculous no-turkey plan. The dinner was pushed back until six -- also peculiar, due to some odd circumstances, all at her end -- and then she said we didn't need to arrive until 5:30, so I was starting to feel like I was taking part in a drive-by Thanksgiving. At one point in the morning I had gone out to get more canned yams, since I actually hadn't bought enough, and I found myself dropping in at the cemetery. (Oooh, how maudlin am I.) I pass the cemetery like 15 times a week, but rarely go in, so I comforted myself by spending a couple of minutes with Jack and Shirl. But when we arrived at the Sibs' at 5:15, from that point on, everything was great. Tons of good food, nice shmoozing with the fam, not an unpleasant moment at all. I even got to spend a few minutes planning J3's wedding shower with her maid of honor, who is conveniently the significant other of J2, and so she was there, too.

Today. I did go out shopping on the highway just a wee bit at about 8:30 am, but otherwise I've been home. The big news, if you want to call it that, is that two of the cars in our fleet of three seem to be at death's door. Which sucks. We just had one of them fixed for not cheap, and now it's dying anyway (that's R's car, a mere 135k on the odometer), and now K's car, which the Hubs drives, has bad brakes. Only about 95k on that one. Imagine, the star of the fleet is my 97 Tracker, with only 93k. Boo. Now if only the Hubs would break down and be a man and buy himself a car, we'd have at least one less wreck to deal with. I swear, he's the only man on earth who doesn't want a new car. Then we could get rid of K's, since she won't really need one again regularly for a while, and as for R's, maybe it's time for her to buy her own, somewhat less used, car. Which would all be nice, because my Tracker can't be long for this world, either. God. In two years, the mortgage will be paid off and K will be out of college, and then I can buy a damn string of cars. Until then, it's all just one hassle after another. I wish I had the guts to buy the Hubs a car for Christmas and park it outside with a big bow, like in the commercials. Maybe he'd drive a new car if he didn't have to go do the shopping and pick it out himself.

New Degrassi tonight. It's the last show I have to tape and copy and send to K. She's coming home in two weeks.

Oh, last thing. I saw in about five different diaries that people said they were going to make my mother's coffee cake, and I thought that was really neat. I hope it came out good for everybody. Good weekend all --

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here