the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Housebound 598

11.27.2004

3:57 pm

I feel kind of trapped in the house today, not so much by a lack of automobile, since the Hubs curtailed his regular Saturday catching up at the office rather than leave me stuck here with a bum car, but more because I'm reluctant to go anywhere at all near a store, mall, or highway. When R gets home from work in an hour or so, we'll probably hit a supermarket, but I bet it'll be jammed there, too. I live in a pocket created by two interstates, two major local highways, and one lesser local highway, and there are malls and stores everywhere, so getting around from place to place between Thanksgiving and Christmas is kind of a non-happening event.

Except of course I'm still looking for a Christmas gift or two. Anyone know anything about satellite radio? The Hubs will either think it's fun or, more likely, it will be another gadget he'll thank me for and then never take out of the box. I still haven't decided.

So I finished up all the laundry and then -- to my own amazement -- I filed all the papers at my desk. And it isn't even tax time yet. My desk is so neat, literally and figuratively. And in my quest to get screenshots from obscure DVDs, I present:



This is Oblio, who is the main character in an animated delight called The Point. It was originally shown on TV in January, 1971, which is when I remember seeing it. It's narrated by Ringo Starr (Dustin Hoffman in its original telecast), and has songs written and performed by Harry Nilsson, including my favorite, "Me and My Arrow", about the love Oblio has for his dog (Arrow.) Anticipate more odd screenshots in days to come.

At least there's a Gilmore girls marathon this afternoon. I have so fallen in love with this show.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here