the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And So It Goes 605

12.06.2004

6:09 pm

I love having my children at home. They are enjoyable company, they are charming people, they are no longer particularly demanding of me for meals, for taking them places, and so on. That said ...

Oy vey. Four adults in the Mouse House. It's going to be a very crowded Christmas.

To review, this is a Cape Cod that was originally built with two not very big bedrooms and an unfinished attic.



Previous owners finished the attic, but did not expand it, nor did they bother to build a door or anything, so you pretty much go up the stairs and you're in the room. That's the third bedroom. This all worked out one way or another when the kids were little. But When R went off to Wales, we turned the little bedroom back into a study -- her idea -- and I worked on the upstairs room to make it nicer, with new furniture and so on. It was a nice room for one person.

Until one person -- either one of them -- came home and started spreading out junk. Now we're heading for that short period of the year when they're both home. Yesterday, R invited me up into the aerie for a consultation. I have to say it again: oy vey. Honestly, the room looked good before K came home from school last May. Now, seven months and another sister later, I don't know how R's making room to cram the other one back in there. I carried out six bags of garbage. What is it with these two that they never throw out their garbage?

In other news, I had to install a child-guard latch on a kitchen cabinet door yesterday, the one where the trash is. Make that a cat-guard latch. That little weasel can just work a paw in and pull the door open, then she loses her grip (since she has no thumbs) and it taps shut. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. I tried putting a short curtain rod through the door handles, but R found that hard to use. I was amused by the irony of having to install a child-guard latch that my child would be able to open.

I realized last week that I seemed to have gained back about five pounds, so I'm working on that -- although I really do think it's a that time of the month year thing, at least partly, and today in the faculty room, one of the younger teachers, someone I've shared the W8 Watching experience with in the past, told me I looked skinny! Holy Ego Boost, Batman!

We've been having yucky wet snow on and off all day, not really sticking, but the ground is wet. It's cold and it's damp. (Sounds like a song cue.)

There's a Nanny reunion on tonight! Are you as excited as I am? I could just plotz!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here