the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Catching Up 612

12.14.2004

5:52 pm

My predictable days are jumbling up, but not so much in a bad way. Yes, there's more clutter in the house. There's more food. We're sharing cars, three cars for four people. I came home lunchtime today and dropped mine off (for K) and the Chum, with whom I cruise town after lunch every day for 15 minutes so she can smoke, followed me home instead and picked me up, and back we went.

I've been having creativity surges lately. Last week it was blankets. Did I mention that? Don't think so. We've got a club at school that's a chapter of Project Linus, and although they quilt and do things like that as a group, they accept blanket donations from anyone who wants to make something and they get it to a children's hospital. So I got all charged up about it and I started a few, actually; I'm going to machine quilt a couple of blankets and turn them in. One is almost done, one is about a third done, and one is more like a good thought. But now that I seem to have someone here at home with me basically full-time -- not the same person, but someone -- I'm not so interested in sitting down in the basement at the sewing machine. Maybe in a couple of weeks. Really, I will.

And now I've got the website designing bug back, so I've been playing around with that a lot. I'm not sure where that's going, but it's fun. I've also been showing another teacher at school how to work with FrontPaige, which is what I usually work with.

And the Sibs and I have been playing around with another idea, something to do when we're retired, actually, which involves incredible needlepoint (her), photography (me), and web design (also me). No idea where that's going yet, either.

In fact -- jumping back a paragraph or so -- I'm working in about four websites/diaries and I don't even know what to write in them all. I'm much better at the setting up than I am at the content, except here. Well ... I do have content ideas for some of them, just not exactly how to get it in there yet. Now I'm being mysterious. More in time, I promise.

I'm going to the faculty holiday party on Thursday, which begins at 3:30 in the afternoon. That's just weird. We've got an hour to drop off the Chum's car at the garage for work, both come back to the Mouse House and change, and hustle our way over to the restaurant, which is in of all places, Paterson. Life is strange, as always, at The Bizarro World High School. The new parking lot opens tomorrow. Pictures, perhaps. I know you're all a-tingle with anticipation.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here