the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Good Evening, Mr. and Mrs. America 616

12.20.2004

7:07 pm

And all the ships at sea.

Updating the news of my humdrum existence:

The Hubs, in fact, lit up the Christmas tree whilst I was typing yesterday's entry. For some reason, he neglected to put the big snowflake on top. He really moves to the beat of his own odd little drummer. Yet he managed to finish his one assigned task by 3:00 or so, when the four of us gathered in the living room and put the ornaments on the tree in our traditional fashion: he sat and watched, I unwrapped the ornaments and handed them out, and the girls hung then up. And still there are places with no ornaments and other spots with three or four clustered together. I would think that adult women would know better.

And he -- you know who I mean -- managed not to find ANY Christmas gifts in his little shopping trip yesterday, and had to stop on the way home from work today. I don't know where he went, but he passes three really big malls on his trip. Naw. He hasn't been to a mall in possibly ten years. Really. Once in a blue moon he goes into a Sears through the garden center entrance; I don't think that counts as a mall visit. Anyway, I think he came home empty-handed again, so tomorrow night will be another adventure.

Here's a good one. (This is just an honest mistake on his part, compounded by one of mine.) He couldn't find the bird seed he wanted yesterday, which is what we usually put down on icy steps so we don't fall and die, so he picked up a jug of snow-melty stuff. I don't think he has ever bought that before, which is why he didn't think to look and see if it was pet-safe. He leaves through the side door, so he didn't even know that the front steps were icy this morning -- it was about 19 degrees, lightly snowing -- but I did, so on my way out to warm up the car, I shook that stuff all over and then on my way back in, realized that I was possibly going to kill our own cats by tracking it in on my shoes. So began the frantic and freezing cold wiping of the shoes, shaking out mats, vacuuming up little white balls of melty stuff, ad infinitum. I wrote a note to warn the girls. After work I went out and got pet-safe stuff and swept/scraped the porch clean, and baby, it was cold out there. I felt like an idiot.

Hey, look what I found!

1. What is a fond holiday tradition from your childhood?
Not Christmas, because we didn't do that. I liked lighting the candles on the Menorah and watching them burn down.

2. If you could start a new holiday tradition, what would it be?
I'd like to decorate the house more. And I always wanted to make the Feast of the Seven Fishes for Christmas Eve dinner, but my 100% Italian FIL doesn't eat fish, nor did his father, so they actually never had it or wanted it.

3. What is your favorite Christmas song and who sings it?
Lately I'm liking "All I Want for Christmas is You", I don't even know who sings it. I always really liked "The Christmas Song" by Nat King Cole ("chestnuts roasting ..."). "I'll Be Home for Christmas" is the saddest song, because it's from World War II, and is really sung by soldiers that you know are never coming home.

4. Is there a certain event, food, television program, etc. that makes your Christmastime complete?
Indeed, I love the movie "The Christmas Story," the one with Ralphie and the Red Ryder BB Gun and the leg lamp and the Bumpus hounds. As a little kid, I LOOOOOOVVED the "Mr. Magoo Christmas Carol."

5. Does is traditionally snow where you live at Christmastime? If not, do you wish that it did?
It does snow here this time of year -- witness this morning -- but it does not always snow on Christmas. Two years ago we had a nor'wester and Christmas day was cancelled. That is, we were stuck in the house with whatever food we happened to have in the freezer and could not get to the ILs' house down near the Jersey shore. As far as I'm concerned, it should only ever snow at night, and then be gone by the morning. Maybe Santa can travel in the snow, but I don't like to.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Oprah
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here