the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I've Been Monitored 617

12.21.2004

7:12 pm

Today was the one day in every seven years -- I did not make that up -- that the state of New Jersey drops in on Bizarro World High School to make sure that our physical facility is all it could be. Make that all it's legally required to be. It's a two-week process in which they make sure that every school in the district is on the up and up, that we are teaching from actual written curricula, and so on. Today was the high school's physical inspection day. Two or three people spent about three hours in a building with two gymnasiums, a large auditorium, a library, 50 or so classrooms and numerous offices, not to mention corridors, bathrooms lavatories, closets, faculty rooms, etc. etc. I'm sure they were extremely thorough. Ahem. For this we had to cleanse ourselves of unapproved microwaves, coffee pots, tiny refrigerators, and extension cords. They are all coming back tomorrow. (The appliances, not the people.)

Tomorrow at this time I shall by partying hard with the crowd from the Hubs' office, not a one of whom I've ever met, since he started there at about this time last year and we missed the holiday party. Aw. I would rather have root canal, and that was not a fine experience for me either. Just what I need, to shmooze with strangers in a noisy environment where I can't hear a thing. Oh god, I'm harping on this, aren't I? I've said this before? I so do not want to go. Maybe if I clap my hands and sprinkle fairy dust or something, it'll snow. Hard. Snow would be good; what use are snowstorms if they don't get you out of stuff you don't want to do? Like that's ever worked out in the real world.

I believe that both of my daughters have now come down with a stomach virus that's going around at R's work. Swell. Merry Christmas to all of us, huh? Hey, maybe if I get it tomorrow .... sorry.

My house needs major straightening up. Friday, perhaps.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here