the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Taking a Stroll Down Memory Sewer 629

01.03.2005

7:24 pm

Heh heh. It's a line from an Odd Couple, taking a stroll down Memory Sewer. I always liked it.

It's been that kind of day. I spent a little time at work looking at those old diary entries I'm re-working for the family, and that's always an interesting thing to do. K just said she's been reading her old diary entries today, too, so maybe it's in the air.

One of the ones I was looking at was this one, about my sister's three children and how close I was to them when they were small and so on. The oldest (J1), who's now 30, is in town from California this week. Oh my, he is a unique individual. I can't even go into it. I'm somewhat less than enchanted with him at the moment, although we had a pleasant visit this afternoon, when he worked us in. He was supposed to come by last night, then changed it to tonight, then made it this afternoon. Unfortunately, neither his uncle nor one of his cousins was at home. He had called and left a message about 1:00 this afternoon to let us know he was coming earlier. Who, I wonder, did he think would be here to get that message? I just think he could have made a bit more time for us; he seems to have made it for all the friends he needs to see while he's here.

He mentioned while he was here -- and it really was a nice visit -- that his sister's fiance's dog was not well. I just called her, and it turns out the dog had to be put to sleep today. I feel so bad for G, who has been very devoted to this dog, an old beagle with a very very docile temperment.

So that's the J report for today. I had some other odd memory strolls at work, but I'll skip them for now. Thinking of Bud, a good dog. Sometimes I start writing these things and I have no idea where they're going to end up.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here