the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Brief. Weird. True. 630

01.04.2005

10:07 pm

I am once again sleep-deprived, but this time for a specific and strange reason.

About 1:15 am, I woke up suddenly, saying "Ow!", and realized that I had been poked in the arm. I turned in that direction and there was the Hubs, asleep, holding in his hand a wire hanger, with which he had just poked me in the arm.

I said "What the hell are you doing?"

He mumbled some answer that sounded explanatory in tone, but I couldn't make it out. So I said "Give me that!" and he handed it to me. End of the hanger incident for him, anyway.

I dropped it onto the floor on my side of the bed, but I was just not falling back to sleep. After a while I got up, put the hanger in the other room with the others going back to the cleaners, and then I was basically up all night.

I know what must have happened. There was a hanger left on the bed from one of his shirts, it blended in with the comforter and neither of us saw it before we went to sleep, it somehow found his hand during the night, and voila, a dream with a prop.

When he came in from work this afternoon, he said to me, puzzled, "I think I had a dream last night about ... a hanger? Was it a dream?"

No, bucko, no dream. You poked me in the arm with a wire hanger while you were asleep. Exactly.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching nothing good on
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here