the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now This Is Interesting 631

01.06.2005

6:57 pm

I am experiencing the quietude of a house occupied by just me and the Hubs. K is back at school, and R is out with her British buddies, seeing a show in the city. It's peaceful here, and I have the whole couch to myself.

I must say, there's also a certain pleasure in knowing the both of my kids are, at the moment, happy. Both of them are surrounded by their friends, and that makes them happy. I'll even go so far as to say that if R got a good job in Wales and wanted to move there, I would at least know that she would be with her friends and be happy. Never thought I'd say that! Of course, one of the guys visiting here has a "girlfriend" back home now. I say "girlfriend" because he says he does and R believes him, but I think he would jump ship for R in a minute, if he had the chance.

Both of my girls need boyfriends. They each need a best bud who does things with them and is there for them and does all that other stuff, you know, that guys do. All that kissing and stuff. *sigh*

We had a delayed opening this morning, and I got the phone call last night, so I quick put up the notice on the school website and then forgot that I'd done it when I woke up this morning (at 5:30) and made coffee and fired up the FrontPaage and there it was, all done. Oops. I went back to bed, woke up later, had another cup of coffee and there I was. Off to school at the crack of 9:00. Boy, do I wish I could do that every day.

But it just rained all day, cold and icky rain, but no snow. Tomorrow's supposed to be sunny, I think, This is the weirdest winter ever.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching commercials
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here